Skip to main content

Vincent Colot

Genome dynamics and epigenetic variation (GDEV)

Background

Our group studies the role of transposable elements (TEs) on heritable phenotypic variation, adaptation and evolution. We are particularly interested in understanding the impact of chromatin-based epigenetic processes, notably DNA methylation, on all aspects of TE biology as well as on genome function. We use the flowering plant Arabidopsis thaliana as our main experimental model and apply advanced molecular genetics as well as genomic and epigenomic approaches to determine the distribution of TEs within and between genomes, the genetic and environmental factors that modulate their mobilization, and the effect of TE insertions on their genic neighborhood.

Research highlights

Our recent findings concern the species-wide impact of transposition and the factors that govern it in A.thaliana (Quadrana et al, 2016, Baduel et al, 2021), the function of DNA demethylation in the control of genes involved in male fertility (Khouider et al 2021), the impact of TEs on the adaptive potential of the polyploid species A. arenosa (Baduel et al, 2019) as well as tomato diversity (Domínguez et al, 2020), and the role of the histone variant H2A.Z in the preferential integration of the most active superfamily of A. thaliana TEs towards environmentally responsive genes and away from essential genes (Quadrana et al, 2019).

Leandro Quadrana, a young researcher in the team, is currently seeking to set up his own lab. He is exploiting large populations of experimental and wild-type plants to determine the genetic and environmental basis of natural transposition. You can find more details about his project here

Quadrana L, Bortolini Silveira A, Mayhew GF, LeBlanc C, Martienssen RA, Jeddeloh JA, Colot, V. (2016). The Arabidopsis thaliana mobilome and its impact at the species level. Elife

Baduel P, Leduque B, Ignace A, Gy I, Gil J, Loudet O, Colot V, Quadrana L. (2021) Genetic and environmental modulation of transposition shapes the evolutionary potential of Arabidopsis thaliana Preprint

Khouider S, Borges F, LeBlanc C, Ungru A, Schnittger A, Martienssen R, Colot V, Bouyer D (2021) Male fertility in Arabidopsis requires active DNA demethylation of genes that control pollen tube function. Nat Commun

Baduel P, Quadrana L, Hunter B, Bomblies K, Colot V. (2019) Relaxed purifying selection in autopolyploids drives transposable element over-accumulation which provides variants for local adaptation. Nat Commun

Domínguez M, Dugas E, Benchouaia M, Leduque B, Jiménez-Gómez JM, Colot V, Quadrana L. (2020) The impact of transposable elements on tomato diversity. Nat Commun

Quadrana L, Etcheverry M, Gilly A, Caillieux E, Madoui MA, Guy J, Bortolini Silveira A, Engelen S, Baillet V, Wincker P, Aury JM, Colot V. (2019) Transposition favors the generation of large effect mutations that may facilitate rapid adaption. Nat Commun

Accèder directement au contenu

Vincent Colot

Dynamique des génomes et variation épigénétique (GDEV)

Contexte

Notre groupe étudie le rôle des éléments transposables (ET) dans la variation phénotypique héritable, l’adaptation et l’évolution. Nous nous intéressons particulièrement à l’impact des processus épigénétiques basés sur la chromatine, notamment la méthylation de l’ADN, sur tous les aspects de la biologie des ET ainsi que sur les fonctions du génome. Nous utilisons la plante Arabidopsis thaliana comme principal modèle expérimental et appliquons des méthodes avancées de génétique moléculaire ainsi que des approches génomiques et épigénomiques pour déterminer la distribution des ET au sein du génome et les variations de celles-ci entre populations, les facteurs génétiques et environnementaux qui modulent la mobilisation des ET ainsi que l’effet de leur insertion sur l’expression des gènes avoisinants.

Résultats marquants

Nos découvertes récentes concernent l’impact de la transposition à l’échelle de l’espèce et les facteurs qui la gouvernent chez Arabidopsis thaliana (Quadrana et al, 2016, Baduel et al, 2021), la fonction de la déméthylation de l’ADN dans le contrôle des gènes impliqués dans la fertilité mâle (Khouider et al 2021), l’impact des ET sur le potentiel adaptatif de l’espèce polyploïde A. arenosa (Baduel et al, 2019) ainsi que sur la très grande diversité des tomates (Domínguez et al, 2020), et enfin le rôle du variant d’histone H2A.Z dans l’intégration préférentielle de la superfamille la plus active des ET d’A. thaliana vers les gènes sensibles à l’environnement et l’évitement des gènes essentiels (Quadrana et al, 2019).

Leandro Quadrana, jeune chercheur de l’équipe, va prochainement créer son groupe de recherche. Il exploite de grandes populations - expérimentales ou sauvages - de plantes pour identifier les bases génétiques et environnementales de la transposition naturelle. Pour en savoir plus sur ce projet, cliquez ici

Quadrana L, Bortolini Silveira A, Mayhew GF, LeBlanc C, Martienssen RA, Jeddeloh JA, Colot, V. (2016). The Arabidopsis thaliana mobilome and its impact at the species level. Elife

Baduel P, Leduque B, Ignace A, Gy I, Gil J, Loudet O, Colot V, Quadrana L. (2021) Genetic and environmental modulation of transposition shapes the evolutionary potential of Arabidopsis thaliana Genome Biol.

Khouider S, Borges F, LeBlanc C, Ungru A, Schnittger A, Martienssen R, Colot V, Bouyer D (2021) Male fertility in Arabidopsis requires active DNA demethylation of genes that control pollen tube function. Nat Commun

Baduel P, Quadrana L, Hunter B, Bomblies K, Colot V. (2019) Relaxed purifying selection in autopolyploids drives transposable element over-accumulation which provides variants for local adaptation. Nat Commun

Domínguez M, Dugas E, Benchouaia M, Leduque B, Jiménez-Gómez JM, Colot V, Quadrana L. (2020) The impact of transposable elements on tomato diversity. Nat Commun

Quadrana L, Etcheverry M, Gilly A, Caillieux E, Madoui MA, Guy J, Bortolini Silveira A, Engelen S, Baillet V, Wincker P, Aury JM, Colot V. (2019) Transposition favors the generation of large effect mutations that may facilitate rapid adaption. Nat Commun