Skip to main content

Hugues Roest Crollius

Genome Organization and Dynamics

Background

Genome sequencing efforts worldwide have provided many vertebrate genome sequences including those from more than one hundred vertebrates, including mammals, birds, and fish. The rationale behind such projects is that comparative genomics remains the most powerful approach to identify and understand the signals that regulate gene transcription, the relationship between gene regulation and gene organization, the targets of Darwinian selection and the consequences of genome rearrangements during evolution. This in turn informs us on how extant genomes function, how genetic information is read by the cell, and why and how specific changes in DNA sequences modulate phenotypes, sometimes gradually as in evolution, sometimes dramatically as in genetic diseases. To achieve this, we require bioinformatic tools and original strategies to analyze billions of DNA bases, tens of thousands of annotated genes, regulatory elements and other functional regions in an integrated fashion, with an evolutionary perspective.

Research highlights

The group has developed several lines of research to address the problem of identifying signatures of past evolutionary events and functional sequences in vertebrate genomes. For instance, this group has developed methods to compare unlimited numbers of genomes to identify regions where genes are conserved in the same order and transcriptional orientation. These so-called syntenic blocks are inherited by modern species since their last common ancestor. The group has developed an online server called Genomicus, to provide access to these new resources. Reference ancestral genomes now enable new approaches to study genome evolution in a large phylogenetic perspective and to analyse changes that took place during evolution. For example, these results have been used to establish the likely causes of genomic rearrangements that modify the organisation of genes in genomes since the ancestor of mammals.
The group has also developed a new bioinformatics method to finely analyse conserved non-coding sequences in vertebrate genomes. Results reveal potential long-range interactions between these regions and their neighbouring genes. Extensive experimental work confirms that many such interactions are in fact due to the regulation of the expression of the genes by these non-coding regions. This analysis thus identified new functional interactions between sequences in the human genome, which help us understand the biology of the genome but also new causes of genetic diseases. The group is also tightly involved in the analysis of newly sequenced genomes, such as the genome of zebrafish or rainbow trout.

Selected Publications

  1. Nguyen,N.T.T., Vincens,P., Roest Crollius,H. and Louis,A. (2017) Genomicus 2018: karyotype evolutionary trees and on-the-fly synteny computing. Nucleic Acids Res, 2017 Oct 26.
  2. Lucas JM, Roest Crollius H. High precision detection of conserved segments from synteny blocks-. PLoS One. 2017 Jul 3;12(7):e0180198.
  3. Naville M, Ishibashi M, Ferg M, Bengani H, Rinkwitz S, Krecsmarik M, Hawkins T, Wilson S, Manning E, Chilamakuri C, Wilson D, Louis A, Raymond F ,Rastegar S, Strähle U, Lenhard Boris ,Bally-Cuif L, Van Heyningen V, Fitzpatrick D, Becker T, and Roest Crollius H (2015) Long-range evolutionary constraints reveal cis-regulatory interactions on the human X chromosome. Nature Communications 6:6904
  4. Berthelot C, Muffato M, Abecassis J, Roest Crollius H. (2015) The 3D organisation of the chromatin explains evolutionary fragile genomic regions. Cell Reports. 10:1913–1924.
  5. Louis A, Nguyen NT, Muffato M, Roest Crollius H. (2014) Genomicus update 2015 : KaryoView and MatrixView provide a genome-wide perspective to multispecies comparative genomics (2014). Nucleic Acids Res. 43:D682-9.
  6. Lucas J, Muffato M, Roest Crollius H (2014) PhylDiag : identifying complex synteny blocks that include tandem duplications using phylogenetic gene trees. BMC Bioinformatics.15(1):268.
  7. Berthelot C, Brunet F, Chalopin C, Juanchich A, Bernard M, Noël B, Bento P, Dasilva C, Labadie K, Alberti A, Aury J-M, Louis A, Dehais P, Bardou P, Montfort J, Klopp C, Cabau C, Gaspin C, Thorgaard GH, Boussaha M, Quillet E, Guyomard R, Galiana D, Bobe J, Volff J-N, Genêt C, Wincker P, Jaillon O, Roest Crollius H, Guiguen Y (2014) The rainbow trout genome provides novel insights into evolution after whole-genome duplication in vertebrates. Nature Communications 5:3657;

All publications




Genomicus screenshot
Genomicus screenshot

Accèder directement au contenu

Hugues Roest Crollius

Dynamique et Organisation des Génomes

Contexte

Les divers programmes de séquençage qui se déroulent au niveau mondial ont fourni la séquence de plus de cent génomes de vertébrés parmi lesquels des mammifères, des oiseaux et des poissons. La motivation qui sous-tend ces projets s’appuie sur le fait que la génomique comparative demeure l’approche la plus efficace pour identifier les signaux qui régulent la transcription des gènes, la relation entre la régulation des gènes et leur organisation, ou encore la définition des cibles de la sélection darwinienne. Ces recherches apportent des informations sur le fonctionnement des génomes, sur les modalités de lecture de l’information génétique par la cellule, sur les mécanismes par lesquels des changements spécifiques dans les séquences d’ADN modulent les phénotypes au cours des processus pathologiques et au cours de l’évolution. Les milliards de bases de l’ADN, les dizaines de milliers de gènes annotés, les éléments de régulation, les données de génomique fonctionnelle à haut débit nécessitent des outils informatiques et des stratégies originales pour une analyse intégrée dans une perspective évolutive.
L’équipe animée par Hugues Roest Crollius s’efforce de comprendre comment l’information génétique est organisée et comment elle a évolué dans les génomes des vertébrés depuis leur dernier ancêtre commun. Elle mène en parallèle plusieurs projets avec l’objectif d’identifier, dans les génomes des vertébrés, des signatures d’événements survenus au cours de l’évolution et les séquences fonctionnelles.

Résultats marquants

Un des objectifs majeurs de cette équipe concerne la reconstruction de la structure de génomes des espèces ancestrales de vertébrés et de plantes. Elle a développé des méthodes bioinformatiques permettant de comparer globalement les génomes séquencés et de repérer les régions restées identiques au cours de l’évolution. Ces régions conservées forment des groupes de synténie, c’est à dire des ensembles de gènes localisés sur un même chromosome hérités de leur ancêtre commun. Ces nouvelles ressources sont mises à la disposition de la communauté scientifique à travers un serveur en ligne appelé Genomicus. Elles offrent un nouveau cadre pour l’étude de l’évolution des gènes et des génomes des vertébrés. L’organisation de plusieurs génomes ancestraux servant de références, cet outil permet de comparer un nombre illimité de génomes dans une large perspective phylogénétique et d’analyser les changements apparus au cours de l’évolution. Grâce aux résultats obtenus, l ‘équipe a pu établir les causes probables des réarrangements génomiques qui modifient l’ordre des gènes depuis l’ancêtre des mammifères.
Par ailleurs, cette équipe a réalisé une analyse bioinformatique fine des régions conservées non-codantes dans les génomes de vertébrés. Une nouvelle méthode a ainsi été mise au point, qui permet d’identifier les relations potentielles de ces régions avec les gènes qui les environnent. De nombreuses vérifications expérimentales montrent que ces relations sont très souvent dues à la régulation de l’expression des gènes par ces séquences conservées. Ainsi, cette analyse met en évidence des relations fonctionnelles importantes entre des séquences du génome de l’homme, ce qui ouvre de nouvelles possibilités pour étudier la biologie du génome, mais aussi pour découvrir de nouvelles causes de maladies génétiques. L’équipe est également impliquée étroitement dans l’analyse de la séquence de nouveaux génomes, comme par exemple celui du poisson zèbre ou de la truite arc-en-ciel.

Publications Récentes
  1. Murat F, Louis A, Maumus F, Armero A,Cooke R,Quesneville H, Roest Crollius H, Salse,J (2015). Understanding Brassicaceae evolution through ancestral genome reconstruction. Genome Biology 16, 262.
  2. Naville M, Ishibashi M, Ferg M, Bengani H, Rinkwitz S, Krecsmarik M, Hawkins T, Wilson S, Manning E, Chilamakuri C, Wilson D, Louis A, Raymond F ,Rastegar S, Strähle U, Lenhard Boris ,Bally-Cuif L, Van Heyningen V, Fitzpatrick D, Becker T, and Roest Crollius H (2015) Long-range evolutionary constraints reveal cis-regulatory interactions on the human X chromosome. Nature Communications 6:6904
  3. Berthelot C, Muffato M, Abecassis J, Roest Crollius H. (2015) The 3D organisation of the chromatin explains evolutionary fragile genomic regions. Cell Reports. 10:1913–1924.
  4. Zelina P, Blockus H, Zagar Y, Péres A, Friocourt F, Wu Z, Rama N, Fouquet C, Hohenester E, Tessier-Lavigne M, Schweitzer J, Roest Crollius H, Chédotal A. (2014) Signaling Switch of the Axon Guidance Receptor Robo3 during Vertebrate Evolution. Neuron. 17 ;84(6):1258-72.
  5. Louis A, Murat F, Salse J, Roest Crollius H. (2014) GenomicusPlants : A Web Resource to Study Genome Evolution in Flowering Plants. Plant and Cell Physiology. 56(1):e4.
  6. Louis A, Nguyen NT, Muffato M, Roest Crollius H. (2014) Genomicus update 2015 : KaryoView and MatrixView provide a genome-wide perspective to multispecies comparative genomics (2014). Nucleic Acids Res. 43:D682-9.
  7. Lucas J, Muffato M, Roest Crollius H (2014) PhylDiag : identifying complex synteny blocks that include tandem duplications using phylogenetic gene trees. BMC Bioinformatics.15(1):268.
  8. Berthelot C, Brunet F, Chalopin C, Juanchich A, Bernard M, Noël B, Bento P, Dasilva C, Labadie K, Alberti A, Aury J-M, Louis A, Dehais P, Bardou P, Montfort J, Klopp C, Cabau C, Gaspin C, Thorgaard GH, Boussaha M, Quillet E, Guyomard R, Galiana D, Bobe J, Volff J-N, Genêt C, Wincker P, Jaillon O, Roest Crollius H, Guiguen Y (2014) The rainbow trout genome provides novel insights into evolution after whole-genome duplication in vertebrates. Nature Communications 5:3657 ;



Genomicus screenshot
Genomicus screenshot